11 December 2020

Construction Awards of Excellence to double up in 2021

The National Federation of Builders (NFB) has announced that the new, independent Construction Awards of Excellence will take place twice in 2021.

Keen to ensure all the good work that building and construction companies have been doing over a two-year period was not overlooked because of Covid-19, the NFB has decided to arrange an online Awards event in April 2020, which will cover the period January 2019 – May 2020; with a welcome return to a physical event at the Chelsea Harbour Hotel in October 2021, which will cover the period June 2020 to July 2021.

The submission and judging process will remain the same for both events.

All construction and building businesses in Great Britain are eligible to enter the new Awards, designed to recognise those individuals and companies that set the gold standard in the construction sector. The National Federation of Builders (NFB) is supporting the Awards, which are being run and judged entirely independently.

The Awards will be judged by an expert independent panel, chaired by Liberal Democrat peer Lord Stunell. Lord Stunell has been the Liberal Democrats' Lords Spokesperson for Construction since 2016. While an MP, he brought a Private Members Bill to the Commons, resulting in the Sustainable and Secure Buildings Bill becoming an Act of Parliament. He commented on today’s announcement:

"When these new Awards were announced, no one could possibly have envisaged what a turbulent year would follow. Having postponed the Awards, we’re pleased now to be able to name these two dates, which ensure that all the extraordinary work done by this industry in the face of some of its toughest ever challenges will be recognised.

“The Awards are open to all businesses in the sector across Great Britain; they have a straightforward application process that opens them up to the very small business as much as to the very large. I hope many companies will seek the recognition they richly deserve but submitting their entries.”

Submission to the Awards are now open and will close on 19 February 2021. The online Awards event will be held on 15 April 2021.

Submissions to the Awards to be held in November 2021 will open in June 2021.

Nick Sangwin, National Chair at NFB, said:

"It has been a real challenge to get the timing right for these Awards but having spoken to many of my peers in the industry, I know there is a real appetite not only to look to the future and a post-Covid, post-Brexit world but also to look back and acknowledge the remarkable work that has been done in the toughest of circumstances.

“These prestigious, UK-wide, independent awards will honour the exceptional contributions of companies and individuals in the construction and building sector across Great Britain."

To ensure the Awards are open to the whole of the UK, NFB is working alongside its Scottish counterparts, the Scottish Building Federation (SBF).

The Award categories are:

  • Building contractor of the year: Scotland
  • Building contractor of the year: Wales
  • Building contractor of the year: England - turnover under £15m
  • Building contractor of the year: England - turnover over £15m
  • UK house builder of the year - under 35 units/yr
  • UK house builder of the year - over 35 units/yr
  • Training initiative of the year
  • Young employee of the year
  • Environmental initiative of the year
  • Heritage building project of the year
  • Lifetime achievement award