17 March 2021


The shortlisted nominees for the 2021 Construction Awards of Excellence, sponsored by principal sponsor Payapps, have been announced today. The winners will be revealed at the awards ceremony to be held online on 15 April.

The independent judging panel met and considered all entries made across the eleven categories.

Lord Andrew Stunell, Chair of the Judging Panel, commented:

"The award nominations were of an exceptionally high standard and my fellow judges and I were left with extremely difficult decisions to make. All companies and individuals who have made it on to the shortlists should be very proud; they made quite an impression on the judges - some of the leading figures in the sector across the UK - with their expertise, commitment and innovation."

After lengthy deliberation and discussion, the panel was pleased to shortlist the following (shown in no particular order):

Building contractor of the year: Scotland

Sponsor: Scottish Building Federation

  • MacLeod Construction
  • Richard M MacKenzie
  • Riddick & Son

Building contractor of the year: Wales



  • Barrie Thomas Builders
  • Jones Brothers

Building contractor of the year: England - turnover under £15m

Sponsor:  Aldermore

  • Golden Houses
  • John Perkins Construction
  • T Manners & Sons

Building contractor of the year: England - turnover over £15m

Sponsor:  The Bletchley Group

  • Henry Boot Construction
  • Tilbury Douglas Construction (was Interserve)
  • WW Martin

UK house builder of the year - under 35 units/yr

Sponsor:  The Brick Development Association


  • Pro Build 360
  • Verto Homes
  • Woodhead Group

UK house builder of the year - over 35 units/yr

Sponsor:  Ibstock

  • Grace Homes
  • Pearce Construction
  • WW Martin

Training initiative of the year         

Sponsor:  NOCN

  • H Bell & Sons
  • Stepnell
  • Trustland

Young employee of the year

Sponsor:  Britbuild

  • Nathan Woolhouse, Hammond Homes
  • Bradley Longford, Henry Boot Construction

Environmental initiative of the year

Sponsor:  CIP


  • Evo Energy
  • Simon West Interiors
  • Verto Homes

Heritage building project of the year           


  • Tilbury Douglas Construction (was Interserve)
  • Ion Glass
  • Stepnell

Lifetime achievement award

Sponsor: Payapps

  • Winner will be announced on 15 April


All are welcome to watch the awards and join the Finalists for the evening. 


For your free ticket, Click here